Seven days of Kara no Kyoukai

The release of the seventh and final Kara no Kyoukai movie is less than a week away and to celebrate its release will be a review for each of the instalments released so far culminating in one for the last in the series. It has taken over two weeks to compile the reviews and this series represents the first of two such features planned for December. Unfortunately the meat of this blog - the three episode taste tests and the series reviews - ebb and flow with the seasons and the availability of episodes which creates a regular period of downtime when writing impetus can wane. Features like these help keep the mind running.

Each of the reviews is in the longer format I usually use for whole seasons with the exception of the fifth movie, Mujun Rasen (Paradox Spiral) which is longer with over twelve hundred words. Three episode taste tests lie between five and six hundred words while others run at between eight and nine hundred. The upcoming reviews were challenging to write - especially with writer's block striking at the most inopportune times - and represent an example of what can be produced when the material allows it. There are only so many ways one can say that new series X is bland, derivative and uninspired.

Regardless, the Kara no Kyoukai review series starts with Overlooking View at 4 December 2009 at 20:00 GMT (15:00 EST, 12:00 PST) and will continue at the same time every evening thereafter until the final review on 10 December 2009.

All seven days